Welcome
Welcome to golfrules

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

19th Hole - no not the bar

Use this forum to discuss hypos' and what meanings lie behind the rules. Owing to some unwanted visitors it is now necessary to register as a member to post any questions or answers you may have regarding the Rules of Golf.
once you have done that you will be able to post.
Sorry for any inconvenience this may cause.
We do not generally discuss H/cap questions but there is no harm in trying, someone on the forum may know the answer. For H/Cap questions WWW.handicapmaster.org is recommended.

Moderators: DC, Ron, Johanna

19th Hole - no not the bar

Postby MikeH » Wed Aug 10, 2016 6:06 am

It's been quiet for a while so I thought I'd throw this one out here.

Players A and B have a singles match and started their match on the 10th hole. Both the 1st and the 10th were being used as start holes for matches.
The 9th green and 18th green is a double green - one very large green with two different holes.

After 18 holes the match is all square after holing out on the 9th. [also 18th]
Instead of proceeding back to the 10th to continue the match, they in error go to the 1st [ the two tees back almost back onto each other but playing in opposite directions.] No doubt through habit.

So far, so good.

Player A tees off down the 1st, player B realises they should be on the 10th and informs player A that he [A] has teed off the wrong tee but does not recall the stroke. Player B now walks over to the 10th and tees off.

Your thoughts gentlemen
User avatar
MikeH
 
Posts: 238
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 9:09 pm
Location: Nelson, New Zealand
Your location: Nelson, New Zealand

Re: 19th Hole - no not the bar

Postby don » Wed Aug 10, 2016 9:17 am

Looks like player (A) has a long way to play to 10th hole! He's propably halfway down the 1st?
If you see a bomb disposal expert running, keep up with him!
User avatar
don
Site Admin
 
Posts: 879
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:46 am
Location: Swansea UK
Your location: Pennard

Re: 19th Hole - no not the bar

Postby MikeH » Wed Aug 10, 2016 10:03 am

He was a lot further than halfway Don :-)
User avatar
MikeH
 
Posts: 238
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 9:09 pm
Location: Nelson, New Zealand
Your location: Nelson, New Zealand

Re: 19th Hole - no not the bar

Postby don » Wed Aug 10, 2016 10:43 am

Maybe the 10th just became a par 7?
Unplayable ball, take S&D, 3 off the tee, in the right direction this time?
If you see a bomb disposal expert running, keep up with him!
User avatar
don
Site Admin
 
Posts: 879
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:46 am
Location: Swansea UK
Your location: Pennard

Re: 19th Hole - no not the bar

Postby MikeH » Wed Aug 10, 2016 11:24 am

The 10th is a par 3 180 metres [200 yards] and player A is now 250 metres [275 yards] from the 10th tee.
The options and strategy become quite intriguing
Guess who my money is on
User avatar
MikeH
 
Posts: 238
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 9:09 pm
Location: Nelson, New Zealand
Your location: Nelson, New Zealand

Re: 19th Hole - no not the bar

Postby Chippings » Wed Aug 10, 2016 3:24 pm

So Martin ----- What did player A do?
Chippings
 
Posts: 153
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 11:00 pm
Your location: Bristol

Re: 19th Hole - no not the bar

Postby MikeH » Wed Aug 10, 2016 8:09 pm

IMHO the following were A's options:-
Play as it lies
Proceed under R27-1 $&R
Concede the hole & match

B's other Options:-
Recall the stroke and both move onto the correct 10th tee.
Also tee off from the 1st and play out the hole [see D2-1/5]

B was 3 up with 3 to play and lost all 3, hence A had the honour on the 19th. B has since implied he knew when walking to the 1st they should have been going off the 10th.

What did A do? he was that incensed he walked off the course.

So here's my question on the matter.............Was this simply match play strategy or very poor sportsmanship? Was this really in the spirit of the game?

IMO B should have chosen either of his other options. clap and gain some respect.
User avatar
MikeH
 
Posts: 238
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 9:09 pm
Location: Nelson, New Zealand
Your location: Nelson, New Zealand

Re: 19th Hole - no not the bar

Postby don » Thu Aug 11, 2016 7:02 am

If player (A) chose to take S&D, he would have to play the 10th from the first tee, would this make any difference?
If you see a bomb disposal expert running, keep up with him!
User avatar
don
Site Admin
 
Posts: 879
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:46 am
Location: Swansea UK
Your location: Pennard

Re: 19th Hole - no not the bar

Postby MikeH » Thu Aug 11, 2016 7:30 pm

I realise that Don, plus he would have to drop. He's still playing 3 from that position whilst B's ball is on the fringe for 1. Can't see it would make any difference.
User avatar
MikeH
 
Posts: 238
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 9:09 pm
Location: Nelson, New Zealand
Your location: Nelson, New Zealand


Return to Rules of Golf discussions and meanings

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
suspicion-preferred