Welcome to golfrules

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Ball moving in water

Use this section to get an answer to your rules questions.

Moderators: DC, Ron, Johanna

Ball moving in water

Postby Dorwood » Fri Dec 19, 2014 6:26 pm

A players ball after a stroke enters a water hazard (concrete lined ditch) containing rapidly flowing water. He goes to where his ball last crossed the hazard margin only to discover his ball had been moved by the fast flowing water approx. 30 metres away where it came to rest. With respect to R14-6 and D14-6/1 is it the case that he has to take relief under R26-1 at that point and not where his ball entered the hazard.
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 12:36 pm
Location: The Wirral

Re: Ball moving in water

Postby Ron » Fri Dec 19, 2014 7:39 pm

Hi Dorwood,

The player may play his ball as it lies(where it came to rest) in the water hazard.
Or he may proceed under either option R26-1a or R26-1b by dropping a ball under penalty of one stroke under either option.

If, however, the player elects to proceed under R26-1b, he MUST use the point the ball last crossed the margin of the hazard as the reference point for taking relief, as stated in the Rule.

Posts: 1564
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 10:33 am
Location: Gloucester

Return to Get a Ruling

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests