Welcome
Welcome to golfrules

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Balls on green

Use this section to get an answer to your rules questions.

Moderators: DC, Ron, Johanna

Balls on green

Postby bazkeen » Sun Oct 23, 2016 9:08 am

2 stationary balls on the green. First person putts and hits opponents ball. Just confirming 2 stroke penalty is for person putting (in stroke play) and the opponents ball must be replaced in original position. Person putting must play his ball where it ends up, with the 2 stroke penalty.

Cheers
bazkeen
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2016 8:55 am
Your location: Singapore

Re: Balls on green

Postby JMC » Sun Oct 23, 2016 9:24 am

bazkeen – your assumption is correct unless the ball being hit (Ball A) had been marked and set aside. In which case no penalty because ball A was not in play – R 19-5a.
JMC
 
Posts: 597
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 3:46 pm

Re: Balls on green

Postby bazkeen » Sun Oct 23, 2016 9:46 am

Cheers for that
bazkeen
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2016 8:55 am
Your location: Singapore

Re: Balls on green

Postby Chippings » Sun Oct 23, 2016 10:39 am

Bazkeen
Be careful not to mix up your (opponents - match play) and your (fellow competitors-stroke play)

JMC answer is correct for stroke play except the applicable rule quoted for a ball set aside is
r 19-4 ( 19-1).
Chippings
 
Posts: 153
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 11:00 pm
Your location: Bristol

Re: Balls on green

Postby JMC » Sun Oct 23, 2016 11:16 am

Chippings – interesting your rectification about the Rule number. I was referring to R 19-5, first alinea, because of the statement: "If a player's ball in motion after a stroke is deflected or stopped by a ball IN PLAY and at rest …"
However, the end result is the same!
Regards – JMC
JMC
 
Posts: 597
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 3:46 pm

Re: Balls on green

Postby RJM » Sun Oct 23, 2016 9:17 pm

And if he really is your opponent (match play), there is no penalty to either player.
RJM
 
Posts: 898
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 11:09 pm


Return to Get a Ruling

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
suspicion-preferred