Welcome
Welcome to golfrules

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Decision 2-5/4

Use this forum to discuss hypos' and what meanings lie behind the rules. Owing to some unwanted visitors it is now necessary to register as a member to post any questions or answers you may have regarding the Rules of Golf.
once you have done that you will be able to post.
Sorry for any inconvenience this may cause.
We do not generally discuss H/cap questions but there is no harm in trying, someone on the forum may know the answer. For H/Cap questions WWW.handicapmaster.org is recommended.

Moderators: DC, Ron, Johanna

Decision 2-5/4

Postby Divot » Tue Feb 14, 2017 9:19 pm

Hello,
Other than a need for better sportsmanship, would anything change in the outcome of the match in question if it became known that Player A knew he should lose the hole for playing the wrong ball but simply kept quiet.
Divot
Divot
 
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 3:44 pm

Re: Decision 2-5/4

Postby Doug » Tue Feb 14, 2017 9:54 pm

Divot

How and when did B learn of the wrong ball?
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK

Re: Decision 2-5/4

Postby Divot » Wed Feb 15, 2017 8:40 pm

The way the decision is written, B knew A had played a wrong ball as both players went back to look for the original. I also assume that neither player knew the playing of a wrong ball was a loss of hole situation. My question is whether any change in the ruling would occur if it becomes known that A knew he should have lost the hole.
Divot
Divot
 
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 3:44 pm

Re: Decision 2-5/4

Postby Chippings » Wed Feb 15, 2017 9:01 pm

Divot
As you are aware , a player may ignore a breach of the rule which his opponent has unknowingly committed.
However a player cannot ignore a breach which he himself has committed.
In your amended scenario the player knows that he has lost the hole and , ,analagous to the final comment in Dec 9-2/12, the Committee should disqualify the player under 33-7, as ii is so contrary to the spirit of the game.
Chippings
 
Posts: 153
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 11:00 pm
Your location: Bristol

Re: Decision 2-5/4

Postby Doug » Wed Feb 15, 2017 10:09 pm

I think not. A still gave wrong information and both clauses in the answer apply.The rule does not differentiate between the two situations.

(ii) the player making the claim had been given wrong information by an opponent and (iii) the opponent knew he was giving wrong information.
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK


Return to Rules of Golf discussions and meanings

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

suspicion-preferred