Welcome to golfrules
You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!
Ron wrote:My undertstanding of R20-1 from the passage above the exception you cited, re 1stroke penalty, refers to the ball or ball marker being moved, and should be replaced. However, no penalty is incurred if it moved as a direct result of marking etc.
I see it more like somebody with a shaky hand or arm moving the ball involuntarily during marking who doesn't incur a penalty.
The decision, 20-1/16, you also cited earlier, in part states,... "there is no penalty for failing to act in accordance with the note".
The note makes suggestions how a ball may be marked, but you don't get penalised if you mark the ball in another way, for example with the tip of your brolly or your car-key, that is what the note says.
Appreciate your comments.
Doug wrote:The position of a ball to be lifted should be marked by placing a ball-marker, a small coin or other similar object immediately behind the ball.
That is what the note says, but in the Rule it says: The position of the ball MUST be marked before it is lifted etc. The note recommends by what means the ball should be marked
Understand the words
'should' means the action is recommended but is not mandatory
'must' means it is an instruction and there is a penalty if it is not carried out
Yes, I know the difference between the two words and their meanings.
That says very clearly there is no penalty for not following a should recommendation. You cannot be penalised for not following a recommendation. Are you also suggesting that if the player uses something other than a small coin or similar he would incur a penalty..
I'm not suggesting that. In an earlier contribution I mentioned that to use the tip of a brolly or car keys to mark the position would also be OK
Remember dec 20-1/16 says The provision in the Note to Rule 20-1 is a recommendation of best practice, but there is no penalty for failing to act in accordance with the Note.
Nobody has suggested that a player incurs a penalty if he uses a small object other than the ones recommended in the note.
As another example, the npr procedure recommends a procedure that the player should follow. There is no penalty for not following the procedure only for not dropping in a correct place.
In this case the penalty is for not replacing the ball in the right place. If the the player can show that the procedure he uses will guarantee an accurate replacement no rule is broken.
Richard J S wrote:a Committee who might make an unfavourable ruling.
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests