Welcome
Welcome to golfrules

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

MGA 2017 Q1

MGA 2017 Q1

Postby Doug » Wed Feb 01, 2017 10:27 pm

1. In a match, Player A hits his drive on the 1st hole which is a long dog-leg. Player B, who has never played the course, asks A, "Where should I aim?" A responds, "Hit your drive at the big oak tree in the distance." B then hits his drive at the big oak tree. A takes four strokes to complete the hole and B takes five strokes.

The result of the hole is:
A) A wins the hole.
B) The hole is halved.
C) B wins the hole.
D) Both players are disqualified.
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK

Re: MGA 2017 Q1

Postby don » Thu Feb 02, 2017 10:07 am

Assuming that there is no H/cp involved my ans is (A).
If you see a bomb disposal expert running, keep up with him!
User avatar
don
Site Admin
 
Posts: 879
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:46 am
Location: Swansea UK
Your location: Pennard

Re: MGA 2017 Q1

Postby Colin L » Thu Feb 02, 2017 2:15 pm

As usual when considering MGA questions, I am suspicious when it seems straightforward. I agree with A) because although B could lose the hole for asking advice* and whatever A said would be irrelevant, A does not make any claim and by providing the advice should be considered either to be ignoring the breach as is his right or ignorant of the rule that has been breached,

*I'm taking the question where to aim as more than a legitimate question about the direction of the hole.
Colin L
 
Posts: 545
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 7:55 pm
Your location: Edinburgh

Re: MGA 2017 Q1

Postby Doug » Thu Feb 02, 2017 4:03 pm

I agree
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK

Re: MGA 2017 Q1

Postby marcalex » Thu Feb 02, 2017 9:35 pm

Hi all,

If you see D2/2, can we say that payer B did not begin his stipulated round so that he cannot be penalized for asking advice at this moment ?
So C) would be a possible answer.
marcalex
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 12:51 pm
Location: France
Your location: Golf of Bussy

Re: MGA 2017 Q1

Postby Doug » Thu Feb 02, 2017 11:00 pm

marcalex wrote:Hi all,

If you see D2/2, can we say that payer B did not begin his stipulated round so that he cannot be penalized for asking advice at this moment ?
So C) would be a possible answer.



Are you suggesting that A has given advice?

But is B "in the competition playing on the course"?
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK

Re: MGA 2017 Q1

Postby Halebopp » Fri Feb 03, 2017 3:10 pm

Colin L wrote:As usual when considering MGA questions, I am suspicious when it seems straightforward. I agree with A) because although B could lose the hole for asking advice* and whatever A said would be irrelevant, A does not make any claim and by providing the advice should be considered either to be ignoring the breach as is his right or ignorant of the rule that has been breached,

*I'm taking the question where to aim as more than a legitimate question about the direction of the hole.


I was thinking it would be similar enough to the example in 8-2a/0.5 (landing zone invisible, not impossible with dog legs) to not be considered a breach but with your point of no claim being made, it seems even more clear.
Halebopp
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2017 1:29 pm
Your location: Finland

Re: MGA 2017 Q1

Postby marcalex » Fri Feb 03, 2017 8:40 pm

Doug wrote:
mariales wrote:If you see D2/2, can we say that payer B did not begin his stipulated round so that he cannot be penalized for asking advice at this moment ?
So C) would be a possible answer.


Are you suggesting that A has given advice?

But is B "in the competition playing on the course"?


Yes of course you're right ! :) Thanks
So I vote for A).
marcalex
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 12:51 pm
Location: France
Your location: Golf of Bussy

Re: MGA 2017 Q1

Postby Adrian Mackenzie » Sun Feb 05, 2017 7:31 pm

I will go for C) as B had not commenced his round.
Adrian Mackenzie
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 7:18 pm
Your location: SP Brazil

Re: MGA 2017 Q1

Postby jhansen31 » Sun Feb 05, 2017 8:15 pm

A)
D8-2a/0.5
in part:
For example, the following actions are not a breach of Rule 8-2a:
Prior to playing from the teeing ground on a hole where the landing zone is not visible, a player asks his fellow-competitor whether an object (e.g.,a building) in the distance is in line with the middle of the fairway, and the fellow-competitor advises that it is.
jhansen31
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2017 2:58 pm
Your location: USA

Re: MGA 2017 Q1

Postby Adrian Mackenzie » Sun Feb 05, 2017 9:49 pm

Not the same in my opinion as asking WHERE should I aim?
Adrian Mackenzie
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 7:18 pm
Your location: SP Brazil

Re: MGA 2017 Q1

Postby jhansen31 » Mon Feb 06, 2017 6:35 pm

Adrian Mackenzie wrote:Not the same in my opinion as asking WHERE should I aim?

True enough - agree with you.

Player B, who has never played the course, asks A, "Where should I aim?"
is different enough and clearly is asking for advice in this scenario.
Back to answer C
jhansen31
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2017 2:58 pm
Your location: USA

Re: MGA 2017 Q1

Postby RJM » Mon Feb 06, 2017 7:50 pm

But, Rule 8-1 begins "During a stipulated round,..." According to Decision 2/2, player B has not begun his stipulated round until he makes his first stroke. And, player A has not given advice to "anyone in the competition playing on the course" since B is not yet "playing on the course."

That leaves A), four strokes for A, 5 strokes for B.
RJM
 
Posts: 898
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 11:09 pm

Re: MGA 2017 Q1

Postby Adrian Mackenzie » Mon Feb 06, 2017 11:24 pm

RJM,

It states give advice to anyone in the competition playing on the course etc. My understanding is that this includes the example given in the original post.
Adrian Mackenzie
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 7:18 pm
Your location: SP Brazil

Re: MGA 2017 Q1

Postby Doug » Tue Mar 14, 2017 12:14 pm

A R8-1
.
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK


Return to MGA Quiz 2017

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
suspicion-preferred