Welcome
Welcome to golfrules

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

MGA 2017 Q14

MGA 2017 Q14

Postby Doug » Thu Feb 02, 2017 9:05 am

14. On a sunny day, a competitor, who forgot to bring a hat, borrows one from a fellow-competitor. The weather turns cloudy and on the par-3 16th putting green, the competitor removes the hat and leaves it next to the fellow-competitor’s golf bag which is near the putting green in deep rough. The competitor sculls his second shot and his ball strikes the golf hat and ends up on its brim. Seeking to avoid the deep rough, the competitor plays the ball from the brim onto the putting green and then holes the following putt.

His score for the 16th hole is:
A) 4
B) 5
C) 6
D) 7
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK

Re: MGA 2017 Q14

Postby marcalex » Sat Feb 04, 2017 5:38 pm

A) 4
marcalex
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 12:51 pm
Location: France
Your location: Golf of Bussy

Re: MGA 2017 Q14

Postby Colin L » Sat Feb 04, 2017 5:47 pm

B) 5 I think.

Tee shot
2nd shot
PS for ball hitting his equipment
Shot from hat brim
Putt
Colin L
 
Posts: 545
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 7:55 pm
Your location: Edinburgh

Re: MGA 2017 Q14

Postby marcalex » Sat Feb 04, 2017 6:50 pm

Colin L wrote:B) 5 I think.

Tee shot
2nd shot
PS for ball hitting his equipment
Shot from hat brim
Putt


Hi Colin,

I think you're right :)
marcalex
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 12:51 pm
Location: France
Your location: Golf of Bussy

Re: MGA 2017 Q14

Postby Wendy » Sat Feb 04, 2017 7:53 pm

I think the answer is C, the score is 6.Decision 19-2/8 refers us to Rule 19-2 telling us that the player MUST take relief from the hat. IMO there's a 2 stroke penalty for a breach of 19-2.
Wendy
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 11:45 pm

Re: MGA 2017 Q14

Postby Wendy » Sat Feb 04, 2017 8:01 pm

It could also be argued that the score is 7. Decision 1-4/16 #6. Unrelated acts result in one rule being breached more than once.
Wendy
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 11:45 pm

Re: MGA 2017 Q14

Postby Colin L » Sun Feb 05, 2017 7:15 am

Thanks Wendy, I was wrongly thinking of the hat, although equipment, just as a movable obstruction. :oops:

I'm not sure that we have two unrelated acts. The failure to carry out a correct procedure following a breach seems to me related. The procedure can't exist separately from the breach. Would this situation be the same as failing to replace an accidentally moved ball where there are not separate penalties for the accidental movement and playing from a wrong place?
Colin L
 
Posts: 545
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 7:55 pm
Your location: Edinburgh

Re: MGA 2017 Q14

Postby Adrian Mackenzie » Sun Feb 05, 2017 6:54 pm

I believe D) is the correct answer but am not sure if it is R 19-2 or R19-3, because I have a doubt if the leaving of the hat beside the fellow competitor's bag means that the borrowed hat is no longer equipment of the competitor. If the hat is no longer considered to be the equipment of the competitor, then the answer would be C).
Adrian Mackenzie
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 7:18 pm
Your location: SP Brazil

Re: MGA 2017 Q14

Postby Chippings » Mon Feb 06, 2017 4:21 pm

I agree with Wendy's first answer of 6 (c)
The second solution was interesting but I agree that only one breach here as Colin as stated.

Not sure of Wendy.s reference to 1-4/16 #6
Or Adrian's reference to19-3which is match play?
Chippings
 
Posts: 153
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 11:00 pm
Your location: Bristol

Re: MGA 2017 Q14

Postby Adrian Mackenzie » Mon Feb 06, 2017 11:41 pm

Chippings,

Many thanks for pointing out my senior moment in quoting R 19-3. What I should have quoted is R 19-4 which directs one to R19-1. If the applicable rule is R 19-2, in my opinion there are two different breaches. The second breach was not a result of the first stroke when the ball landed on the hat.
Adrian Mackenzie
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 7:18 pm
Your location: SP Brazil

Re: MGA 2017 Q14

Postby Finn » Tue Mar 07, 2017 11:45 am

Hi all,
Not sure if the following applies in this case but:
"Other shared equipment is deemed to be the equipment of the player who last used, wore, held or carried it. It remains that player's equipment until it is used, worn, held or carried by the other player"
To my opinion the borrowed hat still belongs to the player who borrowed it so no penalty, right?
Finn
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2017 10:11 am
Your location: Austria

Re: MGA 2017 Q14

Postby marcalex » Tue Mar 07, 2017 5:43 pm

My "maybe final" point of view about this :)

D)
4 Strokes
1 Penalty Stroke according to R19-2 (see definition of "equipment", see extract brought to light by Finn)
2 Penalty Strokes according to R20-7c --> R19 (MUST take relief as Wendy stated)
It is not said, neither in note3 of R20-7 nor in Penalty statment of R19, that there is a possibility of "penalty package"). Moreover, the 2 penalties concerns two different strokes, so unrelated.

Marc Autret
marcalex
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 12:51 pm
Location: France
Your location: Golf of Bussy

Re: MGA 2017 Q14

Postby Doug » Tue Mar 14, 2017 12:22 pm

D R19-2, R20-7
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK


Return to MGA Quiz 2017

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
suspicion-preferred