Welcome
Welcome to golfrules

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

MGA 2017 Q15

MGA 2017 Q15

Postby Doug » Thu Feb 02, 2017 9:56 am

15. A competitor’s tee shot on the 8th hole comes to rest in an area that he feels should have been marked as ground under repair. Because he likes his lie, he decides to play the ball as it lies. He chunks the shot, and it ends up a few feet away in a horrible lie. From his new position, he can see that the whole area had already been marked as ground under repair but part of the marking had been obliterated. He picks up his ball to take relief under Rule 25, plays his next shot to the putting green, holes the ball with two putts and plays from the next tee.
After he returns his score card, which reflects a score of 5 for the 8th hole, but before the competition has closed, his actions are brought to the attention of the Committee. The competitor agrees to the facts but denies knowledge of any possible Rules infraction.

The Committee should rule:
A) Per Decisions 18-2/8 and 18-2/8.5, he must play the ball as it lies. He incurs a two-stroke penalty under Rule 18 and an additional two-stroke penalty under Rule 6-6d Exception.
B) If he dropped the ball at the nearest point of relief from the new position, there is no penalty, he lies 2 and his score for the hole stands as reported.
C) If he dropped the ball at the nearest point of relief from his first lie in the ground under repair, there is no penalty but he lies 2 and his score for the hole stands as reported.
D) He is disqualified because he committed a serious breach of playing from a wrong place.
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK

Re: MGA 2017 Q15

Postby Adrian Mackenzie » Wed Feb 08, 2017 8:25 pm

I opt for B) assuming the ball was lying in GUR after the second shot.
Adrian Mackenzie
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 7:18 pm
Your location: SP Brazil

Re: MGA 2017 Q15

Postby marcalex » Wed Feb 08, 2017 9:02 pm

Agree with you Adrian
marcalex
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 12:51 pm
Location: France
Your location: Golf of Bussy

Re: MGA 2017 Q15

Postby Doug » Tue Mar 14, 2017 12:23 pm

B D18-2/8, R6-6d Exception
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK


Return to MGA Quiz 2017

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
suspicion-preferred