Welcome
Welcome to golfrules

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

MGA 2017 Q18

MGA 2017 Q18

Postby Doug » Thu Feb 02, 2017 10:03 am

18. A competitor’s drive on the 12th hole lies 150 yards from the putting green in an area that has been recently damaged by a golf cart but is not marked as ground under repair. He invokes Rule 3-3 and correctly drops a second ball, announcing his intention to score with the second ball if the Committee subsequently determines that he was entitled to free relief. He strikes the second ball onto the putting green. He then plays the original ball but is able to advance it only 50 yards.
Since he has been having trouble with his chipping, and confident that the Committee will subsequently rule that the second ball he played will count toward his score, he plays four approximately 25 yard chip shots with the original ball onto the putting green. He two putts with each ball. He reports the facts to the Committee when he returns his score card.

The Committee subsequently rules he was entitled to free relief and the score with the second ball counts. What is his score for the hole?
A) 4
B) 6
C) 7
D) 8
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK

Re: MGA 2017 Q18

Postby marcalex » Wed Feb 08, 2017 12:34 pm

Where is the trap ?? :)
The wording "He invokes Rule 3-3 and correctly drops a second ball, announcing his intention to score with the second ball" is weared, but doubts removed by "The Committee subsequently rules he was entitled to free relief and the score with the second ball counts". I do not see anything else..

A) 4 ?
marcalex
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 12:51 pm
Location: France
Your location: Golf of Bussy

Re: MGA 2017 Q18

Postby Doug » Tue Mar 14, 2017 12:24 pm

A R7-2
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK


Return to MGA Quiz 2017

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
suspicion-preferred