Welcome
Welcome to golfrules

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

MGA 2017 Q2

MGA 2017 Q2

Postby Doug » Wed Feb 01, 2017 10:28 pm

2. A Committee member was assigned the role of starter in a single match play event. After Player A properly put a ball in play from the teeing ground, the starter notices the opponent, Player B, tees the ball slightly in front of the tee markers to avoid taking a stance on a portion of slippery soil just outside the teeing ground. A doesn’t notice this potential violation.

The starter should:
A) Inform Player B that he is ahead of the tee markers.
B) Inform both players before Player B puts the ball in play.
C) Inform both players after Player B puts the ball in play.
D) Inform neither player and let the violation occur.
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK

Re: MGA 2017 Q2

Postby Colin L » Thu Feb 02, 2017 5:25 pm

D

Given that an unallocated referee should not intervene in a situation like this, a starter should not either. The right of A to ignore a breach must be recognised. Anyway, I don't really see how the starter could know that A hadn't noticed. He could be equally impassive had he not noticed or had noticed but chosen to say and do nothing.
Colin L
 
Posts: 545
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 7:55 pm
Your location: Edinburgh

Re: MGA 2017 Q2

Postby jhansen31 » Mon Feb 06, 2017 8:28 pm

Answer: D)
While the Committee member is assigned the role of "Starter" during a match the Starter has no authority to intervene. He is not a Referee.

Def Referee (in part)
"....Exception in Match Play: Unless a referee is assigned to accompany the players throughout the match, he has no authority to intervene in a match other than in relation to Rule 1-3, 6-7 or 33-7"

In fact D34-2/3 clarifies that even a referee who has not been assigned to accompany the match has no authority to intervene and must not warn the player.
jhansen31
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2017 2:58 pm
Your location: USA

Re: MGA 2017 Q2

Postby marcalex » Tue Feb 07, 2017 9:19 pm

I think D).
But there is no rule or definition clear about it, only analogy to the definition of "referee".
marcalex
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 12:51 pm
Location: France
Your location: Golf of Bussy

Re: MGA 2017 Q2

Postby Doug » Tue Mar 14, 2017 12:15 pm

D Def. Referee, D34-2/3
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK


Return to MGA Quiz 2017

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
suspicion-preferred