Welcome
Welcome to golfrules

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

MGA 2017 Q24

MGA 2017 Q24

Postby Doug » Thu Feb 02, 2017 10:14 am

24. During an individual stroke play event with the one ball condition in effect, Player A loses his second shot in a water hazard. He borrows a ball from Player B, inadvertently putting a different model ball (improper ball) into play properly under R26 and plays it into the fairway. Player C then points out the violation. Attempting to correct the error, A then goes back and drops a proper ball at the spot from which he had put the improper ball into play.
He hits the proper ball into the rough near the improper ball. B suggests that under the one ball condition, A could have replaced the improper ball with a proper ball. A then lifts both the proper ball from the rough and the improper ball from the fairway. He places the proper ball at the spot the improper ball had previously come to rest in the fairway. He hits the proper ball onto the putting green and one-putts.

A’s score for the hole is:
A) 8
B) 10
C) 11
D) 12
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK

Re: MGA 2017 Q24

Postby marcalex » Mon Feb 06, 2017 9:40 pm

D) 12 ?
marcalex
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 12:51 pm
Location: France
Your location: Golf of Bussy

Re: MGA 2017 Q24

Postby Wendy » Fri Feb 24, 2017 2:17 pm

Marcalex(any others?),

I'd be interested in your breakdown of strokes and penalties. I've worked this one out in at least 2 different ways but I keep coming up with a score of 11.
Wendy
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 11:45 pm

Re: MGA 2017 Q24

Postby dormie1360 » Sat Feb 25, 2017 4:23 am

1 Stroke
1 Stroke
1 PS 26-1
1 Stroke
2 PS One Ball Breach
1 Stroke With correct ball per penalty statement
2 PS 15-3
1 Stroke
1 Stroke

11 Total

It's late, but that's my attempt at it. :)
Regards,
John A.
dormie1360
 
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 2:01 pm
Location: Louisville, KY
Your location: Louisville, KY

Re: MGA 2017 Q24

Postby Wendy » Sat Feb 25, 2017 1:57 pm

Dormie,

There was never a wrong ball played. Both the proper ball and the improper balls were lifted, so it's a matter of substitution, I believe at a wrong place.
Wendy
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 11:45 pm

Re: MGA 2017 Q24

Postby dormie1360 » Sat Feb 25, 2017 3:38 pm

Sorry, told you it was late. :) I meant 15-2 for an incorrect substitution. As you said, the applicable penalty would be a a WP under 13-1. The incorrect substitution is disregarded.

Edit: The assumption would be no SB going from rough to fairway.
Regards,
John A.
dormie1360
 
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 2:01 pm
Location: Louisville, KY
Your location: Louisville, KY

Re: MGA 2017 Q24

Postby Doug » Sat Feb 25, 2017 7:30 pm

dormie1360 wrote:Edit: The assumption would be no SB going from rough to fairway.

If you've ever played links courses you will know that at certain times of the year you are better off being in the light rough than on the fairway :wink:
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK

Re: MGA 2017 Q24

Postby Chippings » Sat Feb 25, 2017 8:25 pm

John/ Wendy

What about the penalty of 1 stroke under 27-1.

This now makes 12 as Marcalex has stated.
Chippings
 
Posts: 153
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 11:00 pm
Your location: Bristol

Re: MGA 2017 Q24

Postby Wendy » Sat Feb 25, 2017 8:33 pm

My head is spinning over this one! One of my solutions does add up to 12, and it's the 27-1 penalty that does it.
Wendy
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 11:45 pm

Re: MGA 2017 Q24

Postby dormie1360 » Sat Feb 25, 2017 9:00 pm

Hello Chippings,

I probably don't understand how the penalty statement for a "one ball condition" breach is applied. :(

I thought of 27-1, however, per the penalty statement ( (ii) Procedure when breach discovered), the player was returning to the previous spot and correcting his play. So if he was proceeding by placing "a proper ball on the spot where the ball played in breach of the condition lay", would that still include a penalty under R27-1? I guess it also begs the question if the stroke played with the improper ball also counts.

Appreciate your thoughts.

Thanks.
Regards,
John A.
dormie1360
 
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 2:01 pm
Location: Louisville, KY
Your location: Louisville, KY

Re: MGA 2017 Q24

Postby Wendy » Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:15 pm

John,
He shouldn't have returned to the previous spot(short of the hazard) to correct his mistake. Now the question becomes, has he played under 27-1? If not, what HAS he done?
Wendy
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 11:45 pm

Re: MGA 2017 Q24

Postby Chippings » Sun Feb 26, 2017 8:28 am

John
The wording for the procedure could have been written in a less ambiguous way.
Substitute the words "the improper ball " for the words "the ball played in breach of the condition" in the following instructions,

" If discovery is made during play of a hole and the player elects to substitute a proper ball before completing that hole, the player must place a proper ball on the spot where the ball played in breach of the condition" lay

It now is easier to Understand.
Where the improper ball LAY not FROM WHERE the improper ball was previously played.
Lay's meaning is in the present tense and not the past tense of "Lie"
A player may have played several strokes on the hole before the error is discovered . The previous play is not cancelled.

With the above in mind you must ,as Wendy has asked,apply a suitable rule to retuning to the previous spot.

Hope this helps a little.
Chippings
 
Posts: 153
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 11:00 pm
Your location: Bristol

Re: MGA 2017 Q24

Postby dormie1360 » Mon Feb 27, 2017 12:13 am

Chippings wrote:John
The wording for the procedure could have been written in a less ambiguous way.
Substitute the words "the improper ball " for the words "the ball played in breach of the condition" in the following instructions,

" If discovery is made during play of a hole and the player elects to substitute a proper ball before completing that hole, the player must place a proper ball on the spot where the ball played in breach of the condition" lay

It now is easier to Understand.
Where the improper ball LAY not FROM WHERE the improper ball was previously played.
Lay's meaning is in the present tense and not the past tense of "Lie"
A player may have played several strokes on the hole before the error is discovered . The previous play is not cancelled.

With the above in mind you must ,as Wendy has asked,apply a suitable rule to retuning to the previous spot.

Hope this helps a little.


Chippings,

Thanks for taking the time for the explanation. Yes that helps.
Regards,
John A.
dormie1360
 
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 2:01 pm
Location: Louisville, KY
Your location: Louisville, KY

Re: MGA 2017 Q24

Postby marcalex » Mon Feb 27, 2017 4:13 pm

Wendy wrote:Marcalex(any others?),

I'd be interested in your breakdown of strokes and penalties. I've worked this one out in at least 2 different ways but I keep coming up with a score of 11.


Hi Wendy, hello everybody,
Sorry for the late reply, here is my detailed point of view :
1 stroke
1 stroke
1 penalty stroke R26
1 stroke
2 stroke penalty (Local Rule "one ball condition")
1 stroke
1 stroke penalty (R27)
2 stroke penalty (R20-7 -> R18)
1 stroke
1 putt
marcalex
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 12:51 pm
Location: France
Your location: Golf of Bussy

Re: MGA 2017 Q24

Postby Chippings » Mon Feb 27, 2017 6:20 pm

Spot on clap
Chippings
 
Posts: 153
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 11:00 pm
Your location: Bristol

Re: MGA 2017 Q24

Postby Wendy » Mon Feb 27, 2017 7:28 pm

I also agree.
Wendy
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 11:45 pm

Re: MGA 2017 Q24

Postby Doug » Tue Mar 14, 2017 12:28 pm

D One Ball Condition, R18-2, R27-1
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK


Return to MGA Quiz 2017

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
suspicion-preferred