Welcome
Welcome to golfrules

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

MGA 2017 Q4

MGA 2017 Q4

Postby Doug » Wed Feb 01, 2017 10:30 pm

4. In stroke play, Player A hits his tee shot, finds a ball he assumes to be his and plays that ball which ends up slightly closer to the hole than Player B’s second shot. As B is preparing to play his third shot, A asks him what
club he used to play his second shot. A then realizes he has played a wrong ball. A returns to the area from which he played the wrong ball, finds his original ball after a one minute search, and plays the original ball into
the hole in four more strokes.

A’s score for the hole is:
A) 6
B) 7
C) 8
D) 9
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK

Re: MGA 2017 Q4

Postby marcalex » Fri Feb 03, 2017 9:24 pm

B) 7 (tee shot + 2ps for the wrong ball + 4 more strokes)
marcalex
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 12:51 pm
Location: France
Your location: Golf of Bussy

Re: MGA 2017 Q4

Postby JMC » Sun Feb 05, 2017 4:14 pm

I agree with marcalex. My anser is also B) 7. No pty for asking what club - he didn't know at that time that he would have to go back to replay! JMC
JMC
 
Posts: 597
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 3:46 pm

Re: MGA 2017 Q4

Postby jhansen31 » Wed Feb 08, 2017 9:35 pm

1 = tee shot
2 ps = If a competitor makes a stroke or strokes at a wrong ball, he incurs a penalty of two strokes.
2 ps = asking for advice. Strokes made by a competitor with a wrong ball do not count in his score.
since asking for advice is not a stroke the penalty for advice stands.
4 talent shots into hole
----
D) 9
jhansen31
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2017 2:58 pm
Your location: USA

Re: MGA 2017 Q4

Postby Ron » Thu Feb 09, 2017 3:51 pm

Hi Marcalex and JMC

D-7 was my answer too.

JMC, I also agreed with your reason advocating NO penalty to A for a breach of R8-1b.It seemed perfectly reasonable, and may well be correct.

However, after reading jhansen's post below, I am not so sure now re R8-1b not applying given the wording, in part, attached to the answer in D20-7c/5, "However, a player cannot disregard a breach which might apply to either ball, such as the practice Rule (Rule7-2), the advice Rule (Rule8-1) or playing a wrong ball".

The wording suggests, to me, there are NO excuses, along the lines you suggested, or indeed any excuse.
Thus, jhansen's score of 9 may be the correct answer.

I would appreciate your comments.

Regards,
Ron.
Ron
 
Posts: 1564
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 10:33 am
Location: Gloucester

Re: MGA 2017 Q4

Postby marcalex » Thu Feb 09, 2017 5:23 pm

Hi Ron,

I am not sure to understand.
But IMO, there is no breach of rule 8, so no penalty at all. Thus, don't matter if the penalty can be disregarded or not.
marcalex
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 12:51 pm
Location: France
Your location: Golf of Bussy

Re: MGA 2017 Q4

Postby kjellkri » Sun Feb 26, 2017 12:38 pm

My opinion:
B - 7 strokes.
It is correct that the penalty for advice cannot be disregarded if caused in relation to a wrong ball. Advice will always count. But this is not advice as the player had no knowledge he had to replay his stroke. Several decisions cover similar situations (but have slipped my mind).

Further to this the balls ended up in similar positions (distance to green). So what club the other player used can hardly be called advice in this situation. The player had himself played to the same position.
kjellkri
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 11:37 am
Location: Falkenberg, Sweden
Your location: Falkenberg, Sweden

Re: MGA 2017 Q4

Postby Doug » Tue Mar 14, 2017 12:16 pm

B R15-3, R8-1, D13-2/4.5, D8-1/6
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK


Return to MGA Quiz 2017

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

suspicion-preferred