Welcome
Welcome to golfrules

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

MGA 2017 Q5

MGA 2017 Q5

Postby Doug » Wed Feb 01, 2017 10:30 pm

5. A and B are partners in a four-ball stroke play competition. A's ball comes to rest in casual water. A's caddie picks up the ball, hands it to B who places it 3 club-lengths behind the casual water at a spot that keeps the
point where the ball lay between the spot where it is placed and the hole. A plays the ball.

A incurs:
A) 1 penalty stroke.
B) 2 penalty strokes.
C) 3 penalty strokes.
D) 4 penalty strokes.
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK

Re: MGA 2017 Q5

Postby marcalex » Fri Feb 03, 2017 9:34 pm

Applicable rule is R25. The penalty "package" of Rule 20-7c Note3 seems to cover all the breaches.
So I think the answer is B) 2 PS
marcalex
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 12:51 pm
Location: France
Your location: Golf of Bussy

Re: MGA 2017 Q5

Postby jhansen31 » Wed Feb 08, 2017 11:57 pm

D) 4 PS

Casual Water is an Abnormal Ground Condition.
Free relief is 1 Club Length not 3 if proceeding under Rule 25-1b
He took 3 club lengths, not 1
Thus dropped in Wrong Place or not within the 1 club length and incurs
2 PS's
+
2 PS's for placing not dropping per relief of Casual Water
Decision 20-6/1 - Ball Placed When Required to Be Dropped or Dropped When Required to Be Placed; Correction of Error
jhansen31
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2017 2:58 pm
Your location: USA

Re: MGA 2017 Q5

Postby RJM » Thu Feb 09, 2017 12:13 am

jhansen31 wrote:D) 4 PS

Casual Water is an Abnormal Ground Condition.
Free relief is 1 Club Length not 3 if proceeding under Rule 25-1b
He took 3 club lengths, not 1
Thus dropped in Wrong Place or not within the 1 club length and incurs
2 PS's
+
2 PS's for placing not dropping per relief of Casual Water
Decision 20-6/1 - Ball Placed When Required to Be Dropped or Dropped When Required to Be Placed; Correction of Error


See Note 3 to Rule 20-7c.
RJM
 
Posts: 898
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 11:09 pm

Re: MGA 2017 Q5

Postby jhansen31 » Thu Feb 09, 2017 12:16 am

Dang - good catch - I always miss that note since it is on the back of the last page in the decisions book -
B) 2PS's
jhansen31
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2017 2:58 pm
Your location: USA

Re: MGA 2017 Q5

Postby kjellkri » Tue Mar 14, 2017 10:32 am

The answers are out. And when I saw the answer to Q5 – three strokes – I had a recollection of a decision. A caddie lifts his player’s ball as he deemed it unplayable. The player was penalized one stroke.

Found it as D18-2/15. Missed that in my original reply.
kjellkri
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 11:37 am
Location: Falkenberg, Sweden
Your location: Falkenberg, Sweden

Re: MGA 2017 Q5

Postby Doug » Tue Mar 14, 2017 12:18 pm

C R18-2, R20-7 Note 3 (b) & (d), R25
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK

Re: MGA 2017 Q5

Postby Mr. Bean » Sat Mar 25, 2017 5:32 pm

This is one of those typical MGA questions where insufficient information has been given.

D26-1/9 says that a caddie may lift the player's ball from a WH if 'it is reasonable to assume from the player's actions or statements that he would not make his next stroke from the WH'. IMO it is only fair to assume that this same principle applies to CW as well. Unfortunately there is no information whatsoever given to verify whether there were actions or statements, or even an agreement between the player and his caddie about lifting a ball from CW. This could have been resolved with one simple question. Thus I find this question poorly written and as such not educative.
Mr. Bean
 
Posts: 948
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 2:26 pm
Your location: Finland, Vantaa


Return to MGA Quiz 2017

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
suspicion-preferred