Welcome
Welcome to golfrules

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Opponent states player's ball OB

Use this section to get an answer to your rules questions.

Moderators: DC, Ron, Johanna

Opponent states player's ball OB

Postby MikeH » Thu Mar 10, 2016 7:41 pm

Singles match. Player A tee shot lies in trees on left of fairway, B's ball lies in trees right of fairway. LWH runs down the right with OB on the far side. Player A is away and elects to play sideways across toward the LWH. Player A knows or is VC that his ball comes to rest in the LWH, player B disagrees and states that the ball crossed the LWH and now lies OB. On this statement A drops and plays another ball and then walks over to collect his ball which lies OB to learn that this is in fact not his original ball and concludes his original lies in the LWH. How would you Rule? Did B make an incorrect statement that influenced A in determining his play? would you consider an 'In Equity' decision? Any thoughts on this?

In this match the players agreed the original ball must be in the LWH, cancelled A's stroke with the second ball and proceeded under R26-1. A lost the hole and IMO the hole stands as played.
User avatar
MikeH
 
Posts: 238
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 9:09 pm
Location: Nelson, New Zealand
Your location: Nelson, New Zealand

Re: Opponent states player's ball OB

Postby dormie1360 » Fri Mar 11, 2016 1:38 am

When A dropped a ball under 27-1 and played it, the players had reached an agreement, albeit grudgingly as far as Player A was concerned. A should have continued with that ball. The hole would have stood as played.

If Player A was virtually certain his ball was in the hazard he should have dropped accordingly. If B disagrees, he could have made a claim. If I understand correctly there was a ball lying OB which B said was A's. Is that correct? It sounds like this was an honest mistake. In Match Play it's up to the player to protect his own rights and do what he thinks is correct. If the opponent disagrees it's up to him to make a claim.

The player's did error in subsequently cancelling A's stroke. Doesn't sound like they were knowingly agreeing to disregard the rules, so in the end you are correct....the hole stands as played.

B did make an incorrect statement, but it was not "wrong information" under the rules.

IMO this is not an equity situation.
Regards,
John A.
dormie1360
 
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 2:01 pm
Location: Louisville, KY
Your location: Louisville, KY

Re: Opponent states player's ball OB

Postby Colin L » Fri Mar 11, 2016 7:42 pm

I agree that Player A has to live with his decision to play S&D. If B had felt a bit bad about his mistake he could have suggested a half. If he had felt really bad about it, he could have conceded the hole. Their agreed solution to ‘rewind” was pragmatic but unsupportable by the Rules. I’m not convinced there wasn’t any agreement to waive a rule but will think more about that.
Colin L
 
Posts: 545
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 7:55 pm
Your location: Edinburgh

Re: Opponent states player's ball OB

Postby MikeH » Tue Mar 15, 2016 9:52 pm

There was no agreement to waive any Rule they simply decided to proceed as they did because they felt an error was made and it needed to be corrected. I was simply intrigued as I'd not come across a player acting on an opponents assurance that a ball was OB. Thanks for your feedback.
User avatar
MikeH
 
Posts: 238
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 9:09 pm
Location: Nelson, New Zealand
Your location: Nelson, New Zealand


Return to Get a Ruling

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
suspicion-preferred