Welcome
Welcome to golfrules

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

penalty holes?

Use this forum to discuss hypos' and what meanings lie behind the rules. Owing to some unwanted visitors it is now necessary to register as a member to post any questions or answers you may have regarding the Rules of Golf.
once you have done that you will be able to post.
Sorry for any inconvenience this may cause.
We do not generally discuss H/cap questions but there is no harm in trying, someone on the forum may know the answer. For H/Cap questions WWW.handicapmaster.org is recommended.

Moderators: DC, Ron, Johanna

penalty holes?

Postby bsaucer » Sat Oct 15, 2016 12:43 am

I'm kinda new at understanding the rules, since I don't play myself...

Match play. After losing the first two holes, you discover you have 15 clubs. Do you:

1. Leave the score unchanged, and play hole three 2 down?
2. Penalize yourself two "penalty holes" and play hole three 4 down?
3. Penalize the next two holes and play hole five 4 down?

Also, does it make any difference if the club removed from play has been used already?
bsaucer
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 10:59 pm
Your location: Alabama

Re: penalty holes?

Postby MikeH » Sat Oct 15, 2016 5:14 am

This should cover it Dec 4-4a/9

4-4a/9 Clarification of Match-Play Penalty
Q.Please confirm that the following is a correct interpretation of Rule 4-4a in a match between A and B:

1. After the 1st hole, it is discovered that B has more than 14 clubs:
a. If B won the hole - The match is all square.
b. If the hole was halved - A is 1 up.
c. If A won the hole - A is 2 up.

2. After the 2nd hole, it is discovered that B has more than 14 clubs:
a. If B won both holes - The match is all square.
b. If B was 1 up - A is 1 up.
c. If the match was all square - A is 2 up.
d. If A was 1 up - A is 3 up.
e. If A was 2 up - A is 4 up.

3. Later in the match, but before the players leave the last green, it is discovered that B has more than 14 clubs:
a. If B was more than 2 up - 2 "ups" are deducted.
b. If B was 2 up - The match is all square.
c. If B was 1 up - A is 1 up.
d. If the match was all square - A is 2 up.
e. If A was 1 up - A is 3 up.
f. If A was 2 up - A is 4 up.
g. If A was more than 2 up - 2 "ups" are added to his "ups."

A.As the loss of hole penalty for a breach of Rule 4-4a is not applied to a specific hole, but to the state of the match at the conclusion of the hole at which the breach is discovered, your interpretation is correct.

So in answer to your question are are now 4 down going into the third as per your #2

The penalty is for carrying an excess club and the player must now delare a club 'out of play' - it's previous use or not is irrelevant
User avatar
MikeH
 
Posts: 238
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 9:09 pm
Location: Nelson, New Zealand
Your location: Nelson, New Zealand


Return to Rules of Golf discussions and meanings

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
suspicion-preferred