Welcome
Welcome to golfrules

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Picking up someones ball up in a water (dry) hazard

Use this section to get an answer to your rules questions.

Moderators: DC, Ron, Johanna

Picking up someones ball up in a water (dry) hazard

Postby Hit'n Hope » Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:49 pm

Hi,

I was wondering if someone can clarify a rule with me.

The other day I was walking around with a group who were playing and one of them was a bit wayward and hit their ball into a dry water hazard. As it was dry I went to look for their ball and found what I thought was someone else's ball so I picked it up only to find out it was only my friends. Normally if this happens outside a water hazard, the ball can be replaced under rule 18.3a and 18.4 and the player allowed to continue with no penalty. However one guy in the group said this couldn't be done and the ball was dead as it was in a water hazard.

Was he correct. We followed his lead as was the most experienced player in the group.

Thanks,

Hit'n Hope
Hit'n Hope
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 12:51 pm
Your location: Dartmouth

Re: Picking up someones ball up in a water (dry) hazard

Postby Doug » Mon Nov 30, 2015 2:02 pm

I'm afraid he wasn't the most knowledgeable. The ball being in a water hazard makes no difference to the rule.
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK

Re: Picking up someones ball up in a water (dry) hazard

Postby Johanna » Mon Nov 30, 2015 6:17 pm

Hit'n Hope wrote:Was he correct. We followed his lead as was the most experienced player in the group.

Hit'n Hope


Don't necessarily trust experienced players as far as their knowledge of the Rules is concerned!

By the way, Welcome to the Rules forum.
Johanna Collinge
User avatar
Johanna
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1272
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 10:20 am
Location: Breda, the Netherlands
Your location: Breda, the Netherlan

Re: Picking up someones ball up in a water (dry) hazard

Postby Hit'n Hope » Mon Nov 30, 2015 9:38 pm

Cheers guys.

Not that I don't trust you, but is there a rule I can quote?
Hit'n Hope
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 12:51 pm
Your location: Dartmouth

Re: Picking up someones ball up in a water (dry) hazard

Postby regole » Mon Nov 30, 2015 11:10 pm

Hit'n Hope wrote:Cheers guys.

Not that I don't trust you, but is there a rule I can quote?


Hi Hope,

Sorry but the question is not which rule allows to do what you have done, but which RoG does not allow to do what you have done and this we must ask the guy of the group :shock:
However, the rule is 18-3 MP or 18-4 SP :wink:

Regards,
regole
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 9:16 pm
Your location: Cagliari / Sardegna

Re: Picking up someones ball up in a water (dry) hazard

Postby Doug » Tue Dec 01, 2015 10:00 am

You will see that 18-3 and 18-4 do not mention any exception for a Water hazard
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK

Re: Picking up someones ball up in a water (dry) hazard

Postby Chippings » Tue Dec 01, 2015 12:10 pm

Hit'n Hope wrote:
The other day I was walking around with a group .???

Hit'n Hope


Similar ruling for the player whose ball was lifted -------- but if you were a spectator 18-1 is the rule no. as you are an outside agency.
Chippings
 
Posts: 153
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 11:00 pm
Your location: Bristol


Return to Get a Ruling

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
suspicion-preferred