Welcome
Welcome to golfrules

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Provisional ball

Use this section to get an answer to your rules questions.

Moderators: DC, Ron, Johanna

Provisional ball

Postby MikeH » Wed Sep 09, 2015 8:28 pm

A player’s tee shot lies on the fairway and in making her second stroke the club head comes away after impact with the ball. The player announces that she will play a provisional ball as she felt that she had been disadvantaged [perhaps confusing R5-3 with her incident] although the original ball known not to be lost or OB. The original ball and the intended provisional ball are both found in close proximity, with the original being further away from the hole. Unsure how to proceed the player now declares she wishes to continue with both balls invoking Rule 3-3 and holes out with both balls and will request a ruling from the Committee.

IMO The ball dropped as an intended provisional ball became the ball in play once a stroke had been made with it under R27-1. Strokes made with the original thereafter disregarded and the score for the hole is with the second ball.

That's my take but am I missing something?
User avatar
MikeH
 
Posts: 238
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 9:09 pm
Location: Nelson, New Zealand
Your location: Nelson, New Zealand

Re: Provisional ball

Postby Doug » Wed Sep 09, 2015 9:18 pm

As soon as she dropped the 'provisional' ball it became the ball in play.

But did she say which ball she wished to count when she said she wished to proceed under 3-3?

However, the original would have been a wrong ball so would not count anyway.
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK

Re: Provisional ball

Postby MikeH » Wed Sep 09, 2015 10:02 pm

Thanks Doug, I was thinking she could have still lifted the dropped ball under R20-6 and proceeded with her OB without penalty? but once a stroke made it became the ball in play. She was intending to proceed under R27-2 and as such was proceeding under an inapplicable Rule and could have corrected her error as she had not made a stroke. My thoughts based on R26-1/3.7 Your thoughts please ?

With regard to which ball to count - no. Just got herself all muddled up - it happens :-)
User avatar
MikeH
 
Posts: 238
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 9:09 pm
Location: Nelson, New Zealand
Your location: Nelson, New Zealand

Re: Provisional ball

Postby RJM » Thu Sep 10, 2015 2:02 am

MikeH wrote:Thanks Doug, I was thinking she could have still lifted the dropped ball under R20-6 and proceeded with her OB without penalty? but once a stroke made it became the ball in play. She was intending to proceed under R27-2 and as such was proceeding under an inapplicable Rule and could have corrected her error as she had not made a stroke. My thoughts based on R26-1/3.7 Your thoughts please ?

With regard to which ball to count - no. Just got herself all muddled up - it happens :-)


Shades of Simon Khan in the 2006 (?) European Masters where he was dq'd.
RJM
 
Posts: 898
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 11:09 pm

Re: Provisional ball

Postby MikeH » Fri Sep 11, 2015 2:46 am

Yes, but Khan had gone forward and then came back with the intent of playing a provisional ball which back in 2006 you could not do. Perhaps the Khan incident actually prompted Dec 27-2a/1.5 and today he would be able to go back and play a PB.

So the remaining question is.......... Could she have lifted the wrongly dropped ball under R20-6 as a PB cannot be played for a ball that is neither lost or OB. [ball dropped under an inapplicable Rule]......... Yes or No ?
User avatar
MikeH
 
Posts: 238
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 9:09 pm
Location: Nelson, New Zealand
Your location: Nelson, New Zealand

Re: Provisional ball

Postby RJM » Fri Sep 11, 2015 4:21 am

That's a debate that is still ongoing somewhere.

Much like Ernie Els at the 2010(?) Masters when he hit a shot from behind the 15th green and it rolled across the green towards the water hazard. He assumed that it had gone into the hazard and was ready to drop a ball at the original spot. The crowd noise made him stop and not drop the ball; he went and played the original ball that had not gone into the water hazard. If he had dropped the ball, would he have proceeded under an inapplicable Rule (26-1a) and be able to pick it up under 20-6? (All of this was before the link was established between 28a, 26-1a and 27-1.)
RJM
 
Posts: 898
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 11:09 pm


Return to Get a Ruling

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
suspicion-preferred