Welcome
Welcome to golfrules

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

What is the ruling?

Use this section to get an answer to your rules questions.

Moderators: DC, Ron, Johanna

What is the ruling?

Postby Mr. Bean » Thu Oct 29, 2015 10:42 am

In D19-1/3 a player fails to cancel his stroke made from the putting green after having deflected by a moving outside agency. What is the ruling if the player continues with his ball but accidentally moves it before his next stroke and does not replace it? Let us assume no serious breach has occurred at any time.

Does the player get 2 PS for playing from wrong place and additional 2 PS for a general breach of R18, or in total only 2 PS for playing from wrong place?
Mr. Bean
 
Posts: 948
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 2:26 pm
Your location: Finland, Vantaa

Re: What is the ruling?

Postby Doug » Thu Oct 29, 2015 11:12 am

Can you just confirm the sequence? ie does 2 exist?
1 Plays and hits moving OA
2 Plays original ball from where it finished
3 Accidentally moves ball before another stroke
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK

Re: What is the ruling?

Postby Mr. Bean » Thu Oct 29, 2015 2:37 pm

Doug wrote:Can you just confirm the sequence? ie does 2 exist?
1 Plays and hits moving OA
2 Plays original ball from where it finished
3 Accidentally moves ball before another stroke


Precisely. And no SB occurred.
Mr. Bean
 
Posts: 948
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 2:26 pm
Your location: Finland, Vantaa

Re: What is the ruling?

Postby Doug » Thu Oct 29, 2015 4:24 pm

IMO 1-4/12(5) example 2
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK

Re: What is the ruling?

Postby Mr. Bean » Thu Oct 29, 2015 4:46 pm

Doug wrote:IMO 1-4/12(5) example 2


So the ball in question was a ball in play all the time, despite of it was to be cancelled? Thus 2+2 PS = 4 PS, right?
Mr. Bean
 
Posts: 948
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 2:26 pm
Your location: Finland, Vantaa

Re: What is the ruling?

Postby Doug » Thu Oct 29, 2015 6:44 pm

It would seem so. The decision mentions the original ball counting.
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK

Re: What is the ruling?

Postby Mr. Bean » Thu Oct 29, 2015 9:11 pm

Doug wrote:It would seem so. The decision mentions the original ball counting.


Ok, and I agree with You.

But why do You keep insisting a ball hitting a power cable is no longer in play:

Doug wrote:But I don't like the analogy anyway as there is no ball in play in the overhead cable situation.


??
Mr. Bean
 
Posts: 948
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 2:26 pm
Your location: Finland, Vantaa

Re: What is the ruling?

Postby Doug » Fri Oct 30, 2015 9:34 am

Ok but my main point all along is that the penalty is for wrong place.
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK

Re: What is the ruling?

Postby Mr. Bean » Sat Oct 31, 2015 4:12 pm

As this is such an intriguing issue I will pursue it a bit more.

Same situation as in the OP case but after having accidentally moved his ball while addressing it instead of making a stroke at it he realizes he needs to cancel and replay his previous stroke. So he picks up his ball, places it at the spot of his previous stroke and plays it.

Does the player incur a one stroke penalty for moving his ball in play as per R18-2b?

I wish I could get more people discussing this than just Doug and myself as there is a relatively profound and very interesting issue involved.
Mr. Bean
 
Posts: 948
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 2:26 pm
Your location: Finland, Vantaa


Return to Get a Ruling

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
suspicion-preferred