Welcome
Welcome to golfrules

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

D. 25/11

Use this forum to discuss hypos' and what meanings lie behind the rules. Owing to some unwanted visitors it is now necessary to register as a member to post any questions or answers you may have regarding the Rules of Golf.
once you have done that you will be able to post.
Sorry for any inconvenience this may cause.
We do not generally discuss H/cap questions but there is no harm in trying, someone on the forum may know the answer. For H/Cap questions WWW.handicapmaster.org is recommended.

Moderators: DC, Ron, Johanna

D. 25/11

Postby regole » Sun Apr 03, 2016 10:50 am

Hi All.
I ask your help for a clarification.
If a player's ball lies above grass cuttings they have been piled for removal and with reference to D. 25/11, I'd like your opinion on a situation that could present during a competition.
In such a situation may the player after having established the nearest point of relief remove all grass cuttings and drop the ball within 1cl on a spot where the grass cuttings had been :?:
Thanks in advance for your input.
Regards
regole
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 9:16 pm
Your location: Cagliari / Sardegna

Re: D. 25/11

Postby Doug » Sun Apr 03, 2016 11:44 am

This has recently been confirmed by one the USGA.

The response was:

Interesting question – you are correct that trimmings piled for removal by a greenkeeper are ground under repair, but the trimmings are loose impediments and may be removed by the player – see Rule 23-1 and Decision 25/11. In such a situation the material is the ground under repair, not the physical ground – see Definition of Ground Under Repair. Therefore, the player may drop within one club-length of the nearest point of relief, including near where the material was piled after he has removed all such material.
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK

Re: D. 25/11

Postby regole » Sun Apr 03, 2016 2:49 pm

Doug wrote:This has recently been confirmed by one the USGA.

The response was:

Interesting question – you are correct that trimmings piled for removal by a greenkeeper are ground under repair, but the trimmings are loose impediments and may be removed by the player – see Rule 23-1 and Decision 25/11. In such a situation the material is the ground under repair, not the physical ground – see Definition of Ground Under Repair. Therefore, the player may drop within one club-length of the nearest point of relief, including near where the material was piled after he has removed all such material.



Many thanks Doug, I had no doubt about this, but I had the need for a confirmation. And that confirms :!: :wink:
Thanks again for your prompt reply. clap

Regards
regole
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 9:16 pm
Your location: Cagliari / Sardegna


Return to Rules of Golf discussions and meanings

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
suspicion-preferred