Welcome
Welcome to golfrules

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Match play

Use this section to get an answer to your rules questions.

Moderators: DC, Ron, Johanna

Match play

Postby JMC » Sat Aug 20, 2016 11:34 am

I would appreciate your ruling in following case.
Four-ball match play. Team made of player A and B.
Both balls are on the green. Player A marks and lifts B's ball.
Then player A replaces his ball where he had lifted B's ball and plays.
When B wants to play, his ball-marker is nowhere!
How should they continue and what penalty (penalties) to whom?
Thanks for your input and regards – JMC
JMC
 
Posts: 597
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 3:46 pm

Re: Match play

Postby Doug » Sat Aug 20, 2016 12:12 pm

IMO of course.

A is DQd from hole.
B must replace his ball at the estimated position.
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK

Re: Match play

Postby JMC » Sat Aug 20, 2016 12:30 pm

Thank you Doug for your prompt reply. While I agree with you, I still have following question.
Due to the fact that the ball marker had been lifted by A and not replaced, there is not a pty for a breach of R 20-1?
If not ok.
If there is a pty, then to whom (A is already disqualified!) – could it be to B? If the answer is yes, I would then considered it as unfair!
Thanks for your opinion and Regards – JMC
JMC
 
Posts: 597
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 3:46 pm

Re: Match play

Postby Doug » Sat Aug 20, 2016 4:19 pm

B is responsible for A's action re B's ball and A lifted it legitimately as B's partner.
However, B is also responsible for its being replaced. In your story he hasn't as yet.
In equity, I would suggest B must replace his ball at the estimated position.

But on second thoughts, B is responsible for A's action in leaving B's ball unmarked. So 1sp to B.

Unfair? But that's life.
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK

Re: Match play

Postby JMC » Sat Aug 20, 2016 5:10 pm

Thank you Doug for your explanation which I understand. My misunderstanding comes probably from my too narrow interpretation of R 30-3d and also from the second paragraph of R 30-3f which reads: "In all other cases where a player incurs a pty for a breach of a Rule (in my case player A had breached a rule and not B!), the penalty does not apply to his partner."

Rules of golf are really not easy!!

Best regards – JMC
JMC
 
Posts: 597
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 3:46 pm


Return to Get a Ruling

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
suspicion-preferred