Welcome
Welcome to golfrules

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

penalty at tee box ;

Use this section to get an answer to your rules questions.

Moderators: DC, Ron, Johanna

penalty at tee box ;

Postby alexmaliyakel » Fri Sep 16, 2016 3:36 pm

At the tee, A player addressed the ball and took a swing; He did not hit the ball and ball did not move nor the tee; Player declared it as practice swing ; can other players can give penalty of two strokes. What is rule on this ?
alexmaliyakel
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2016 12:50 pm
Your location: India

Re: penalty at tee box ;

Postby Doug » Fri Sep 16, 2016 5:05 pm

Was the player originally intending to hit the ball?
If he was, it is a stroke and he lies 1.
If he wasn't, it wasn't a stroke and he hasn't yet started the hole
The committee would have to decide, after questioning him and the other players, what his score was for the hole.
But players can't award penalties, that is a job for a referee or the committee.
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK


Return to Get a Ruling

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
suspicion-preferred