Welcome
Welcome to golfrules

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Wrong information?

Use this forum to discuss hypos' and what meanings lie behind the rules. Owing to some unwanted visitors it is now necessary to register as a member to post any questions or answers you may have regarding the Rules of Golf.
once you have done that you will be able to post.
Sorry for any inconvenience this may cause.
We do not generally discuss H/cap questions but there is no harm in trying, someone on the forum may know the answer. For H/Cap questions WWW.handicapmaster.org is recommended.

Moderators: DC, Ron, Johanna

Wrong information?

Postby Divot » Wed Nov 16, 2016 3:53 pm

Good morning,
In a match, the players were on opposite sides of the green, out of sight of the location of their golf balls. A asked B if his ball was in the bunker. B intentionally lied to his opponent. Such an answer is not wrong information by Rule 9-2b; however, Decisions 9/1 and 8-1/9 give tangential support to a loss of hole penalty to B. Is there a penalty or just bad sportsmanship?
Divot
Divot
 
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 3:44 pm

Re: Wrong information?

Postby RJM » Wed Nov 16, 2016 4:23 pm

Imo, it's very poor sportsmanship but not a breach of the Rules. A could walk around and see the location of B's ball.
RJM
 
Posts: 898
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 11:09 pm


Return to Rules of Golf discussions and meanings

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
suspicion-preferred