Welcome
Welcome to golfrules

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

D. 19-5/1

Use this forum to discuss hypos' and what meanings lie behind the rules. Owing to some unwanted visitors it is now necessary to register as a member to post any questions or answers you may have regarding the Rules of Golf.
once you have done that you will be able to post.
Sorry for any inconvenience this may cause.
We do not generally discuss H/cap questions but there is no harm in trying, someone on the forum may know the answer. For H/Cap questions WWW.handicapmaster.org is recommended.

Moderators: DC, Ron, Johanna

D. 19-5/1

Postby regole » Thu Jan 05, 2017 3:37 pm

Hi All and Happy New Year
I refer to this decision and in particular the highlighted part in red:

19-5/1 Player Lifts His Ball on Putting Green and Sets It Aside; Opponent's or Fellow-Competitor's Ball Played from Green Subsequently Strikes Player's Ball
Q. B lifts his ball on the putting green and sets it aside elsewhere on the green. A then putts and his ball is deflected or stopped by B's ball. What is the ruling?
A. Since A's ball was deflected by B's equipment (see Note 1 under Definition of 'Equipment'), Rules 19-3 and 19-4 apply.
In match play, A incurs no penalty and has the option of playing his ball as it lies or cancelling and replaying the stroke - Rule 19-3.
In stroke play, A incurs no penalty and must play his ball as it lies - Rules 19-4 and 19-1.
In either form of play, B must replace his ball on the spot from which it was lifted - Rule 20-3a.
Rule 19-5a does not apply because B's ball was not in play.


I would appreciate your opinion on this decision which does not convice me.
The decision says that A must play his ball as it lies.
Sorry, and here my doubts, but A should not proceed under Rule 19-1b and therefore cancel the stroke and the ball must be replaced and replayed?
Thanks in advance for your support.
regole
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 9:16 pm
Your location: Cagliari / Sardegna

Re: D. 19-5/1

Postby RJM » Thu Jan 05, 2017 3:46 pm

Are you suggesting that B's ball is a "moving or animate outside agency"? As the Decision says, it was stationary and is part of B's equipment.
RJM
 
Posts: 898
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 11:09 pm

Re: D. 19-5/1

Postby regole » Thu Jan 05, 2017 3:59 pm

Hi RJM
Excuse me but now everything is clear .misunderstanding resolved.

Thanks.
regole
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 9:16 pm
Your location: Cagliari / Sardegna


Return to Rules of Golf discussions and meanings

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
suspicion-preferred