Welcome
Welcome to golfrules

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

MGA 2017 Q6

MGA 2017 Q6

Postby Doug » Wed Feb 01, 2017 10:32 pm

6. In a stroke play event, Player A’s approach shot comes to rest on the putting green leaving him with a long 75-foot putt.
Player B’s approach shot lands in a greenside bunker. A marks and lifts his ball, then reads his line of putt. B’s bunker shot comes to rest on the putting green, but he still has a 30-foot putt remaining.
A reads his line of putt from the other side of the hole while B is cleaning up the bunker. Just as B finishes, A replaces his ball. A putts his ball and it apparently comes to rest, but is overhanging the hole.
B, not paying attention, immediately walks up to his ball and putts it. B’s ball not only strikes A’s ball, deflecting it into the hole, but B’s ball follows it in as well. Unsure of how to proceed, the competitors agree that since both balls are holed, there is no issue and they proceed to tee off the next hole and complete the stipulated round.
They inform the Committee of this situation prior to signing and returning their score cards.

The Committee should rule:
A) Both players’ balls are considered holed and there is no penalty.
B) Player A’s ball is considered holed. Player B’s ball is considered holed and he is assessed a two-stroke penalty.
C) Player A is disqualified and Player B’s ball is considered holed and he is assessed a two-stroke penalty.
D) Both players should have replaced their balls and replayed their last strokes. As both players failed to hole out, they are both disqualified.
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK

Re: MGA 2017 Q6

Postby marcalex » Wed Feb 08, 2017 12:57 pm

C) Player A is disqualified and Player B’s ball is considered holed and he is assessed a two-stroke penalty.
?
marcalex
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 12:51 pm
Location: France
Your location: Golf of Bussy

Re: MGA 2017 Q6

Postby Adrian Mackenzie » Mon Feb 13, 2017 3:48 pm

Agree C)
Adrian Mackenzie
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 7:18 pm
Your location: SP Brazil

Re: MGA 2017 Q6

Postby kjellkri » Sun Feb 26, 2017 1:13 pm

My discussion:
B has infringed A's right to reach the ball and 10 seconds of wait. Within this time frame we can not be certain that A's ball was at rest. Thus B has played while another ball was in motion on the green.
kjellkri
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 11:37 am
Location: Falkenberg, Sweden
Your location: Falkenberg, Sweden

Re: MGA 2017 Q6

Postby Doug » Tue Mar 14, 2017 12:18 pm

C R18-5, R19-5a, R3-2
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK


Return to MGA Quiz 2017

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
suspicion-preferred