Welcome
Welcome to golfrules

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

MGA 2017 Q7

MGA 2017 Q7

Postby Doug » Wed Feb 01, 2017 10:39 pm

7. In a single match, A and B are using the same make driver and sharing a caddie. A is 1 up after 2 holes.
On the 3rd tee, the caddie mistakenly hands B’s driver to A, which she uses to tee off. When B is given A’s driver, she notices the mistake and uses her own driver to play her tee shot.
A and B are uncertain of the penalty and agree to get a ruling later. However, A thinks that perhaps she can correct her mistake by cancelling the stroke played with the wrong driver and replaying her tee shot using her own driver. B objects and states she is adding this to the claim, so A decides to complete the hole with both balls. B finishes the hole in 5 strokes. Without including any possible penalty strokes, A scores a 4 with her first ball and a 5 with the second ball.

When they get a ruling, they are informed that after the completion of the third hole:
A) A is 2 up.
B) A remains 1 up.
C) The match is all square.
D) B is 1 up.
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK

Re: MGA 2017 Q7

Postby JMC » Sun Feb 05, 2017 4:06 pm

IMO the answer B) he remains 1 up. He won the 3rd hole, however the match is adjusted for breach of R 4-4. JMC
JMC
 
Posts: 597
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 3:46 pm

Re: MGA 2017 Q7

Postby marcalex » Thu Feb 09, 2017 9:38 am

JMC wrote:IMO the answer B) he remains 1 up. He won the 3rd hole, however the match is adjusted for breach of R 4-4. JMC


IMO the answer is D) because of Rule 2-5 Note 2 and D3-3/9
marcalex
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 12:51 pm
Location: France
Your location: Golf of Bussy

Re: MGA 2017 Q7

Postby Adrian Mackenzie » Thu Feb 09, 2017 7:06 pm

Agree D.
Adrian Mackenzie
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 7:18 pm
Your location: SP Brazil

Re: MGA 2017 Q7

Postby RJM » Thu Feb 09, 2017 7:58 pm

Same answer D), but a different route. A is in breach of 4-4a and the state of the match will be adjusted at the end of the third hole. A has proceeded under S&D when she played the second ball, and scored 7 with it, losing the hole. Also lost the hole when she played another stroke with the first ball -a wrong ball.
RJM
 
Posts: 898
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 11:09 pm

Re: MGA 2017 Q7

Postby jhansen31 » Sun Feb 26, 2017 8:52 pm

* A is 1 up standing on the 3 tee box
* A uses B club off 3 tee.
* D4-4a/5 states in part "incurs penalty under Rule 4-4a using a club selected for play by another person playing on the course"
* Penalty for breach in match play is loss of hole.
* Cannot correct mistake by playing another stroke as Rule 4-4a penalty states "state of match is adjusted by deducting one hole for each hole at which the breach occurred", thus loss of hole on 3rd hole.
* A decides to play two balls but you cannot do that in match play, only stroke play, Rule 2-5 Note 2.
* A has now committed 2 rules violations, each of which is loss of hole, but on the same hole. Does not carry forward as the hole was already lost by using B's driver.

My thoughts are since A was up 1 he now lost 3 so the match is square. Ans C.
jhansen31
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2017 2:58 pm
Your location: USA

Re: MGA 2017 Q7

Postby Doug » Tue Mar 14, 2017 12:19 pm

D R4-4, D3-3/9
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK


Return to MGA Quiz 2017

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

suspicion-preferred