Welcome
Welcome to golfrules

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

MGA 2017 Q8

MGA 2017 Q8

Postby Doug » Wed Feb 01, 2017 10:42 pm

8. In a stroke play event, a player's second shot lands in green side rough, and rolls into the adjacent lateral water hazard. The player correctly locates the spot where his ball crossed into the hazard and then identifies the area within two club-lengths for dropping the ball, a portion of which extends onto the putting green.
He intentionally drops a ball on the steep part of that area of the putting green, hoping to preview the break of his subsequent putt. The dropped ball rolls down the putting green more than two club-lengths, just missing the hole.
He re-drops the ball very near where he dropped it the first time but adjusting for the break he observed with the first drop. The ball again rolls toward the hole, and this time it rolls into the hole. He then properly
places the ball and it stays at rest where the re-dropped ball first struck the putting green.
While the player is walking away to retrieve his putter, the ball begins to move and rolls into the hole. He retrieved his ball and teed off on the next hole.

Including all any penalty strokes, the result of the hole is:
A) 3
B) 4
C) 5
D) He is disqualified.
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK

Re: MGA 2017 Q8

Postby JMC » Sun Feb 05, 2017 4:10 pm

IMO he proceeded correctly, so A) 3! JMC
JMC
 
Posts: 597
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 3:46 pm

Re: MGA 2017 Q8

Postby Adrian Mackenzie » Sun Feb 12, 2017 9:53 pm

Agree A).
Adrian Mackenzie
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 7:18 pm
Your location: SP Brazil

Re: MGA 2017 Q8

Postby marcalex » Sun Feb 12, 2017 10:42 pm

Agree A)
marcalex
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 12:51 pm
Location: France
Your location: Golf of Bussy

Re: MGA 2017 Q8

Postby jhansen31 » Wed Mar 01, 2017 10:25 pm

1. R26-1c states for relief the ball must be dropped outside the hazard within two club lengths not nearer the hole. The player did this even though it landed on the green which is OK. 1 Stroke penalty.

2. Rule 20-2b - Where to drop: "It must first strike the a part of the course where the applicable rule requires it to be dropped"
R26-1 says it is OK to drop anywhere outside the hazard and makes no mention about putting green.

3. Here is perhaps the kicker. "Rule 20-2c (iii) When to redrop". It says you have to redrop if it rolls onto and comes to rest on a putting green. I think the rules allow you to drop on the putting green as stated in item 2 above so this does not come into play.

4. As the ball rolled into the hole after it came to rest after the second drop and was thus in play. Ball Holed

A) 3
2 shots which lands green side
1 Penalty Stroke for relief from hazard
------
3
jhansen31
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2017 2:58 pm
Your location: USA

Re: MGA 2017 Q8

Postby Doug » Tue Mar 14, 2017 12:19 pm

A R20-2
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK


Return to MGA Quiz 2017

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

suspicion-preferred