Welcome
Welcome to golfrules

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

MGA 2017 Q10

MGA 2017 Q10

Postby Doug » Thu Feb 02, 2017 8:52 am

10. The Committee's procedure for returning score cards is to have players drop them into a sealed collection box near the final putting green. While waiting to play on the tee of the last hole, Player A asks his marker, Player B, to sign A's score card on the tee so he does not forget to do so at the end of the round. B does so and
then A also signs it, putting his score card back in his pocket.
After completion of the hole, A verbally confirms his score with B, completes the score card himself without showing B, and deposits it in the collection box.
After both players have returned their score cards but before the competition is closed, the incident is brought to the attention of the Committee. The players agree with the facts reported to the Committee but were unaware they had violated any Rule.

How should the Committee rule?
A) Player A is disqualified.
B) Player A and B are both disqualified.
C) Player A is penalized 4 strokes.
D) There is no penalty
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK

Re: MGA 2017 Q10

Postby marcalex » Tue Feb 07, 2017 12:30 pm

D6-6b/7 -> D) There is no penalty
marcalex
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 12:51 pm
Location: France
Your location: Golf of Bussy

Re: MGA 2017 Q10

Postby Doug » Tue Feb 07, 2017 9:57 pm

D) 6-6b
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK

Re: MGA 2017 Q10

Postby Wendy » Sat Feb 18, 2017 3:30 pm

I agree with Marcalex that Decision 6-6b/7 applies, but in my view Player A is DQ.
Wendy
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 11:45 pm

Re: MGA 2017 Q10

Postby Adrian Mackenzie » Sat Feb 18, 2017 4:45 pm

I would not disqualify A) because he only completed his score card with his result for the last hole which had been verbally agreed by his marker. This assumes that A) recorded the correct score for the hole.
Adrian Mackenzie
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 7:18 pm
Your location: SP Brazil

Re: MGA 2017 Q10

Postby Wendy » Sat Feb 18, 2017 5:17 pm

Hmmm...I think the player meant well, and there's no indication he put in a wrong score. But, he did alter the card. He changed it from a blank to a number, and I think this becomes DQ as per Decision 6-6b/7 "because he has, in effect, returned a score card that has not been signed by the marker".
Wendy
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 11:45 pm

Re: MGA 2017 Q10

Postby Adrian Mackenzie » Sat Feb 18, 2017 5:47 pm

Rather than classify it as an alteration, I prefer to say that he inserted the score for the last hole. The marker knows that he has pre-signed the score card and verbally confirms with A what his score was. As all the related facts were confirmed to be correct, I personally would not disqualify the player.
Adrian Mackenzie
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 7:18 pm
Your location: SP Brazil

Re: MGA 2017 Q10

Postby Wendy » Sat Feb 18, 2017 7:33 pm

I would hate to DQ the player, but my answer to the quiz question is still DQ.
Wendy
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 11:45 pm

Re: MGA 2017 Q10

Postby Doug » Tue Mar 14, 2017 12:20 pm

D R6-6a, R6-6b
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK


Return to MGA Quiz 2017

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
suspicion-preferred