Welcome
Welcome to golfrules

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

R 2-2

Use this section to get an answer to your rules questions.

Moderators: DC, Ron, Johanna

R 2-2

Postby JMC » Wed Jan 04, 2017 7:51 am

Above rule states:
"When a player has holed out and his opponent has been left with a stroke for
the half, if the player subsequently incurs a penalty, the hole is halved."

Let's take following case:
Player A and player B when playing a par 3 hole, they are both on the green with their drive.

Player A makes his putt for a score of 2. Before B plays, A shows to B how to putt. B does not say anything and needs 2 putts to finish the hole for a score of 3.

If B had made a claim before putting, the hole would have been halved.
Since he didn't make any claim, B lost the hole.

Is my interpretation of R 2-2 correct?
Thanks & regards – JMC
JMC
 
Posts: 597
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 3:46 pm

Re: R 2-2

Postby RJM » Wed Jan 04, 2017 2:30 pm

See Decision 2-2/1.
There are other considerations:
- a player may overlook a breach by his opponent provided there is no agreement to waive the Rules or a penalty
- if a referee has been assigned to the match, there is no need to make a claim - the referee will apply the Rules
- if no referee has been assigned to the match, the player must make a claim that he wants the Rules applied. If he did so, the hole would be halved.
RJM
 
Posts: 898
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 11:09 pm

Re: R 2-2

Postby JMC » Wed Jan 04, 2017 2:44 pm

Thanks RJM for your reply. Your third sentence confirms what I had understood.

I was aware of D 2-2/1, however the phrase " ….. but Rule 2-2 BECOMES OPERATIVE in these ……". The "become operative" was not clear to me. Now I understand that R 2-2 becomes operative if a claim is made! Your confirmation is what I was looking for – thank you!
JMC
 
Posts: 597
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 3:46 pm

Re: R 2-2

Postby Chippings » Wed Jan 04, 2017 3:49 pm

JMC
And just to clarify for our readers the time limit for the claim in your scenario is :
--before any player has teed off the next hole or
--if it is the final green before all players have left the green.

And NOT as possibly implied?? --"before player B has made his putt "

See rule 2-5. :P
Chippings
 
Posts: 153
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 11:00 pm
Your location: Bristol

Re: R 2-2

Postby JMC » Wed Jan 04, 2017 5:42 pm

Yes Chippings I agree – it is a good point to remember and I thank for it! JMC
JMC
 
Posts: 597
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 3:46 pm


Return to Get a Ruling

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
suspicion-preferred