Welcome
Welcome to golfrules

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

R13-2 Removed Flagstick unattended or attended

A forum to debate the proposed rule changes

R13-2 Removed Flagstick unattended or attended

Postby MikeH » Tue Mar 14, 2017 10:49 pm

Trying to get my head around some of the wording and thinking behind this new proposed rule

"Purpose of Rule 13.2: This Rule explains the player’s choices for dealing with the flagstick and what happens when a ball hits the flagstick. The player may leave the flagstick in the hole or have it attended or removed, but must decide before making a stroke. The player gets no penalty if the ball hits the unattended flagstick in the hole or accidentally hits an attended or removed flagstick or the person attending it, and the ball is normally played as it lies."

Players A, B and C are on the green. Green is reasonably steep being higher at the back. A is away and putting across the green and he elects to have the flagstick removed. B removes the flagstick and places it 3 yards away below the hole. A putts and the ball lips out at 90* to his line of putt and is now travelling with enough pace down the green toward the flagstick. C jumps in and moves the flagstick away and the ball finishes off the green.

My understanding is there would be no penalty to A if his ball was stopped by the flagstick. Meanwhile it would appear here C gets a 2sp .......am I reading this right?
The flagstick no longer appears as an exception under movable obstruction however an exception under 15-2 sends you to 11-3 which then sends you to 13-2 with regard to the flagstick.
Could A have instructed C not to move the flagstick to gain some advantage?

Not sure if I'm confusing myself here.......
So what is the status of the flagstick once it is removed [therefore no longer attended as per new wording]?
In it's new position lying on the green can the flagstick be moved by anyone whilst a ball is in motion?

Looking for a dark room to sit in :-)
User avatar
MikeH
 
Posts: 238
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 9:09 pm
Location: Nelson, New Zealand
Your location: Nelson, New Zealand

Re: R13-2 Removed Flagstick unattended or attended

Postby Doug » Wed Mar 15, 2017 7:53 am

I reckon the exception is a detail they haven't got round to yet.
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK

Re: R13-2 Removed Flagstick unattended or attended

Postby RJM » Wed Mar 15, 2017 3:49 pm

MikeH wrote:Trying to get my head around some of the wording and thinking behind this new proposed rule

"Purpose of Rule 13.2: This Rule explains the player’s choices for dealing with the flagstick and what happens when a ball hits the flagstick. The player may leave the flagstick in the hole or have it attended or removed, but must decide before making a stroke. The player gets no penalty if the ball hits the unattended flagstick in the hole or accidentally hits an attended or removed flagstick or the person attending it, and the ball is normally played as it lies."

Players A, B and C are on the green. Green is reasonably steep being higher at the back. A is away and putting across the green and he elects to have the flagstick removed. B removes the flagstick and places it 3 yards away below the hole. A putts and the ball lips out at 90* to his line of putt and is now travelling with enough pace down the green toward the flagstick. C jumps in and moves the flagstick away and the ball finishes off the green.

My understanding is there would be no penalty to A if his ball was stopped by the flagstick. Meanwhile it would appear here C gets a 2sp .......am I reading this right?
The flagstick no longer appears as an exception under movable obstruction however an exception under 15-2 sends you to 11-3 which then sends you to 13-2 with regard to the flagstick.
Could A have instructed C not to move the flagstick to gain some advantage?

Not sure if I'm confusing myself here.......
So what is the status of the flagstick once it is removed [therefore no longer attended as per new wording]?
In it's new position lying on the green can the flagstick be moved by anyone whilst a ball is in motion?

Looking for a dark room to sit in :-)


Surfaced this last week. My info says it's an "unintended consequence" and will probably be fixed in the next revision such that it remains as now - no penalty to C.
RJM
 
Posts: 898
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 11:09 pm


Return to Rules Modification

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
suspicion-preferred