Welcome to golfrules

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!


Use this forum to discuss hypos' and what meanings lie behind the rules. Owing to some unwanted visitors it is now necessary to register as a member to post any questions or answers you may have regarding the Rules of Golf.
once you have done that you will be able to post.
Sorry for any inconvenience this may cause.
We do not generally discuss H/cap questions but there is no harm in trying, someone on the forum may know the answer. For H/Cap questions WWW.handicapmaster.org is recommended.

Moderators: DC, Ron, Johanna


Postby Divot » Tue Apr 19, 2016 9:03 pm

Good day,
A player in taking relief under Rule 24 or 25, marks the nearest point of relief (Point A) and the one club length area for dropping (Point B) with tees. When the player drops the ball, it first strikes the ground in the inch or so space between Point A and the edge of the GUR or cart path, then bounces and rolls to a spot that does not require a re-drop under 20-2c. The diagrams and explanations in Decision 25-1b/2 ("...area in which ball to be dropped...") would indicate that the drop does not meet the rules; that is, the ball must be dropped within the arc formed by points A and B. Rules 24 and 25, however, both say "When the ball is dropped within one club length of the nearest point of relief, the ball must first strike a part of the course at a spot that avoids interference by the condition..." Certainly, the drop was within one club length of the NPR, but does that space of an inch or so between the NPR and the edge of the GUR or obstruction meet the requirements of the rule of dropping in a spot that avoids the condition? Or must it be assumed that no such space exits if the NPR was taken correctly?
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 3:44 pm

Re: Redrop?

Postby RJM » Tue Apr 19, 2016 10:25 pm

If the dropped ball first strikes a part of the course between the npr and the gur/cart path, it has not been dropped in the prescribed area or the npr was wrong.
Posts: 898
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 11:09 pm

Re: Redrop?

Postby Doug » Wed Apr 20, 2016 6:41 am

Divot wrote: a spot that avoids interference by the condition...

That spot is within the area limited by the obstacle and the npr so the spot does not avoid interference.
User avatar
Site Admin
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK

Re: Redrop?

Postby Ron » Wed Apr 20, 2016 10:51 am

Hi Divot,

The first sentence in the Definition of NPR states in part, "The nearest point of relief" is the reference point for taking relief...."
The last paragraph of R20-2b states, " A ball when dropped must first strike a part of the course where the applicable Rule requires it to be dropped. If it is not so dropped,Rules20-6 and 20-7apply".

Thus, since the ball did not first strike a part of the course i.e. within the one club length arc subtended from point 'A' (NPR) it should be lifted under R20-6 and redropped. Failure to do so, and played, R20-7 applies.

Posts: 1564
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 10:33 am
Location: Gloucester

Return to Rules of Golf discussions and meanings

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest