With respect to all contributors and readers of this thread i think a summary of waht I have learned would be propriate;
When taking relief from an obstruction, abnormal ground condition (AGC) or wrong green;
1) Find out what kind of shot you would have done if the interference from the obstruction, AGC or wrong green wouldn´t have been there.
2) Find the point that is the nearest way out from the interference, the nearest way out includes your stance, where you can make that shot from point 1) without interference, and when you take relief on the green, you also take relief for the line of play, which on the green can be the line of putt. If you take relief in a bunker, you have to find that point in the bunker. If you take relief through the green or on the green, the point shall not be in a hazard, and if it´s through the green, not on a green. And, I should add, that point can absolutely be backwards in the line of play.
3) If that point is nearer the hole than where your ball originally was, find the point nearest from there which is equidistant to the hole from where the ball originally was.
4) Find out if this still is the nearest point out from the interference, there can be an other new point since you had to adjust the point to "not nearer the hole".
5) There can be several equidistant points from where the ball original was that is the nearest point out from the interference - good news - you can choose anyone.
6) You have now found your "nearest point of relief", NPR, the point on the course nearest to where the ball lied, not nearer the hole and, where you can make the stroke you should have done if the shot wouldn´t have been interfeared.
7) If your ball was on the green, place the ball on that point, even if that point are off the green. Your ball is then in play again.
If your ball was through the green (also wrong green) or in a bunker, you shall drop the ball in one clublength from that point, also backwards, as long as it isn´t taking you back to the first interference, but not nearer the hole. And some good news; if your NPR is backwards, and also in some other small object interference, you can drop the ball in one clublength in both directions. Then your ball is in play again.
9) When your ball is in play again, you don´t have to make that shot from point 1). Your new place can offer a new kind of shot.
10) If you then, choosing to make an other shot, are in some other interference, even from the same obstruction or AGC, play the ball as it lies or feel free to start ower again from point 1)
That´s the procedure, anyone wants to argue with Johns and my belief that 99% of all golfers get this wrong from time to time? I had an ambition to make a drawing of this, but when realising all different possibilities of shapes of interference objects, i quit. There is a lot of geometry involved.
So that leads me to an other conclusion - if 99% of all golfers are wrong, which referee would be confident enough to penalize a golfer for playing from the wrong place? Would you?
Best regards from Patrik, now leaving this subject and instead working on, before the soon upcoming golfing season of 2012, getting his shots out from interference.