Welcome
Welcome to golfrules

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Too late?

Use this forum to discuss hypos' and what meanings lie behind the rules. Owing to some unwanted visitors it is now necessary to register as a member to post any questions or answers you may have regarding the Rules of Golf.
once you have done that you will be able to post.
Sorry for any inconvenience this may cause.
We do not generally discuss H/cap questions but there is no harm in trying, someone on the forum may know the answer. For H/Cap questions WWW.handicapmaster.org is recommended.

Moderators: DC, Ron, Johanna

Too late?

Postby Divot » Fri Nov 25, 2016 5:28 pm

Hi all,
A player accidentally moves his ball in play and correctly replaces it with a one stroke penalty. He could have cleaned the ball before replacing it but did not. After replacing the ball, he decides he would like to clean the ball. Does he have any retroactive right to mark, lift and clean the ball?
Divot
Divot
 
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 3:44 pm

Re: Too late?

Postby Doug » Fri Nov 25, 2016 8:39 pm

No. When he replaced the ball it was in play.
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK

Re: Too late?

Postby JMC » Sun Nov 27, 2016 9:23 am

Doug – I believe there could be one exception, namely if the player had replaced his ball at the wrong place, he could have lifted it and cleaned it. Do you agree? JMC
JMC
 
Posts: 597
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 3:46 pm

Re: Too late?

Postby 999Q » Sun Nov 27, 2016 1:10 pm

Just to be pedantic (who me?)! Another exception is if the ball was originally on the putting green!

Barry
999Q
 
Posts: 527
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 2:08 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Your location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Too late?

Postby Doug » Sun Nov 27, 2016 2:16 pm

Yes & agreed.
User avatar
Doug
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3261
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK


Return to Rules of Golf discussions and meanings

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
suspicion-preferred