Welcome to golfrules

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Unmarked golf balls

Use this forum to discuss hypos' and what meanings lie behind the rules. Owing to some unwanted visitors it is now necessary to register as a member to post any questions or answers you may have regarding the Rules of Golf.
once you have done that you will be able to post.
Sorry for any inconvenience this may cause.
We do not generally discuss H/cap questions but there is no harm in trying, someone on the forum may know the answer. For H/Cap questions WWW.handicapmaster.org is recommended.

Moderators: DC, Ron, Johanna

Unmarked golf balls

Postby Mal » Tue Feb 05, 2008 6:32 pm

During match play A & B play their approach shots into a blind green. On arriving at the green they find one ball on the green and the other in the hole. However they then discover that they are both playing the same make and number of ball. i.e. they cannot identify whose ball is whose because they have not put any identifying marks on them. Up to this point they had not had any problems in knowing whose ball was whose. What's the decision.
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 5:29 pm

Postby DC » Tue Feb 05, 2008 6:41 pm


Firstly welcome to the forum.

The answer to your question is that both balls are lost and the players must return to the place they last played under stroke and distance (R27-1). This is explaned in Decision 27/10.

27/10 Player Unable to Distinguish His Ball from Another Ball

Q. A and B hit their tee shots into the same area. Both balls were found but, because A and B were playing identical balls and neither had put an identification mark on his ball, they could not determine which ball was A’s and which was B’s. What is the ruling?

A. Since neither player could identify a ball as his ball, both balls were lost — see Definition of “Lost Ball.”

This incident underlines the advisability of the player putting an identification mark on his ball — see Rules 6-5 and 12-2.

User avatar
Posts: 954
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 4:57 pm
Location: Loughborough, UK

Postby Mal » Tue Feb 05, 2008 7:16 pm

Thanks. It's what I thought. Their decision to call it a half should probably have lead to their DQ, (agreement to waive the rules).
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 5:29 pm

Postby Doug » Tue Feb 05, 2008 7:23 pm

They may have a let out with respect to a DQ

Decision 2-1/1 Players Unable to Resolve Rules Problem Agree to Consider Hole Halved

Q. In a match, A putted to within three inches of the hole and then knocked his ball away. B, the opponent, objected. He stated that he wanted A’s ball left by the hole. A and B were uncertain how to resolve the matter, so they agreed to consider the hole halved. Should A and B be disqualified under Rule 1-3?

A. No. There was no agreement to waive the Rules. Rather, the players were ignorant of the Rules.
User avatar
Site Admin
Posts: 3256
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Wetherby, UK
Your location: UK

Postby quincy » Wed Feb 06, 2008 10:20 am

Welcome Mal, and just in case: The Decisions on the Rules of Golf can be found online under
http://www.randa.org/index.cfm?action=r ... n=37608462

Posts: 360
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 7:05 pm

Return to Rules of Golf discussions and meanings

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests