Page 1 of 1

MGA 2017 Q5

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 10:30 pm
by Doug
5. A and B are partners in a four-ball stroke play competition. A's ball comes to rest in casual water. A's caddie picks up the ball, hands it to B who places it 3 club-lengths behind the casual water at a spot that keeps the
point where the ball lay between the spot where it is placed and the hole. A plays the ball.

A incurs:
A) 1 penalty stroke.
B) 2 penalty strokes.
C) 3 penalty strokes.
D) 4 penalty strokes.

Re: MGA 2017 Q5

PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2017 9:34 pm
by marcalex
Applicable rule is R25. The penalty "package" of Rule 20-7c Note3 seems to cover all the breaches.
So I think the answer is B) 2 PS

Re: MGA 2017 Q5

PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2017 11:57 pm
by jhansen31
D) 4 PS

Casual Water is an Abnormal Ground Condition.
Free relief is 1 Club Length not 3 if proceeding under Rule 25-1b
He took 3 club lengths, not 1
Thus dropped in Wrong Place or not within the 1 club length and incurs
2 PS's
+
2 PS's for placing not dropping per relief of Casual Water
Decision 20-6/1 - Ball Placed When Required to Be Dropped or Dropped When Required to Be Placed; Correction of Error

Re: MGA 2017 Q5

PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 12:13 am
by RJM
jhansen31 wrote:D) 4 PS

Casual Water is an Abnormal Ground Condition.
Free relief is 1 Club Length not 3 if proceeding under Rule 25-1b
He took 3 club lengths, not 1
Thus dropped in Wrong Place or not within the 1 club length and incurs
2 PS's
+
2 PS's for placing not dropping per relief of Casual Water
Decision 20-6/1 - Ball Placed When Required to Be Dropped or Dropped When Required to Be Placed; Correction of Error


See Note 3 to Rule 20-7c.

Re: MGA 2017 Q5

PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 12:16 am
by jhansen31
Dang - good catch - I always miss that note since it is on the back of the last page in the decisions book -
B) 2PS's

Re: MGA 2017 Q5

PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2017 10:32 am
by kjellkri
The answers are out. And when I saw the answer to Q5 – three strokes – I had a recollection of a decision. A caddie lifts his player’s ball as he deemed it unplayable. The player was penalized one stroke.

Found it as D18-2/15. Missed that in my original reply.

Re: MGA 2017 Q5

PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2017 12:18 pm
by Doug
C R18-2, R20-7 Note 3 (b) & (d), R25

Re: MGA 2017 Q5

PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2017 5:32 pm
by Mr. Bean
This is one of those typical MGA questions where insufficient information has been given.

D26-1/9 says that a caddie may lift the player's ball from a WH if 'it is reasonable to assume from the player's actions or statements that he would not make his next stroke from the WH'. IMO it is only fair to assume that this same principle applies to CW as well. Unfortunately there is no information whatsoever given to verify whether there were actions or statements, or even an agreement between the player and his caddie about lifting a ball from CW. This could have been resolved with one simple question. Thus I find this question poorly written and as such not educative.